The geysers of Te Whakarewarewa Valley

The geysers of Te Whakarewarewa Valley

Rotorua is famous for its geothermal wonders, and in the Te Whakarewarewa Valley there are three particulary significant and active geysers. Pohutu, Te Tohu and Keruru Geyser have been drawing the crowds to Te Puia for many years.

Pohutu Geyser is the star of the bunch performing up to twenty eruptions a day. Pohutu sends water a staggering thirty metres into the air, with its eruptions expected when its neighbouring geyser, Te Tohu, starts to play.

The eruptions can last from a few minutes to several days, and in a rare case between 2000 and 2001, Pohutu erupted for over 250 days. 

Te Tohu, was renamed in honour of the 1901 royal visit due to the resemblance between the geyser's plume and the feathers on the Prince of Wales coat of arms. It sprang to life in 1886 following the Mount Tarawera eruption and can shoot water up to seven metres high.

On the Geyser Flat, also near Pohutu, sits Kereru. Named after New Zealand’s native wood pigeon due to its fan-shaped, fifteen metre plume resembling the tail of the bird – this active geyser is distinctive by the black sinter it sits upon.