Lakes District

With 18 lakes, Rotorua is arguably the lakes capital of New Zealand. Our lakes provide residents and visitors with world class recreational and sporting opportunities. Protecting our lakes for future generations to enjoy is of paramount importance. 

The Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes Programme is responsible for improving and protecting the water quality in the historic Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes. Our work is world renowned, leading the way in lakes water quality management. The programme is a joint partnership of Rotorua District Council, Bay of Plenty Regional Council and Te Arawa Lakes Trust.

The results from this programme have improved water quality in Lakes Rotorua, Rotoiti and Rotoehu and water quality is now stable in Rotoma, Okareka, Tikitapu and Rerewhakaaitu. To find out more.